Goodbye, Hugh

As I embark on this music journey, I felt it appropriate to christen my trip with a send-off to the man who nudged my boat out of drydock, Hugh Ferguson.

As I look forward to what may come, I will never forget to look back on occasion to remember the man who not only told me it was possible, but instilled within me also the notion of playing for playing’s sake, critics be damned.

This piece, like many things from my heart, is of course flawed; but at least I can say it is sincere. It is a guitar tapping solo played on the high e and b strings. I couldn’t tell you the name of a single note I play or what key it is in, if it’s even in a key.

Listen to “Goodbye, Hugh”

5 responses to “Goodbye, Hugh

  1. There is nothing like hearing this played live, man — you can tell Hugh is sitting there with us, listening, eyes closed … patting something with the “beat” that only he could find and accompany… You can feel the emotion pouring out… So yes – this is one of your channeling avenues – so don’t cut it off…

Leave a Reply

